Awakening, a violin concert by Joshua Peckins

Main content

Submitted by Anonymous on

Violinist Joshua Peckins returns to the live concert stage, presenting an immersive solo violin recital experience, pairing beloved music by J. S. Bach with fresh works by living and upcoming geniuses from around the world and rich commentary about the composers and their music.

Experience Jessie Montgomery’s compelling Rhapsody No 1 live, a piece Peckins performed extensively during the pandemic (virtually). Polina Nazaykinskaya - a classmate of Peckins from their graduate studies at Yale School of Music - wrote her Caprices in 2020. Instantly engaging, tremendously virtuosic, and dazzlingly expressive, these pieces join Montgomery’s as new works sure to become part of the violin’s virtuoso canon. Bach’s Partita No 3 is the final solo violin work from his famous collection - glorious in its purity, depth of refined feeling, and true beauty.

“Awakening” belongs to the 2021-22 project “Music Speaks.” The performance will include commentary about the composers and music.

Future events in the concert series includes:

  • “Awakening” on Thursday, October 7 at 7 pm at East Branch
  • “Winter Bird” on Sunday, November 14 at 2 pm at West Branch
  • “Winter Bird” on Thursday, December 2 at 7 pm at East Branch
  • “Improvisations” on Sunday, January 23 at 2 pm at West Branch
  • “Improvisations” on Thursday, February 3 at 7 pm at East Branch

You may sign up for future events on our event calendar.

Thank you to the Friends of the Somerville Public Library for funding this series.

For more information, contact Jane at

West Branch Atrium
Start Time: 
2:00 PM
End Time: 
3:00 PM

Footer content